Savannah-Upper Ogeechee Council

Council Members

Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) between the council, Georgia Environmental Protection Division, and the Georgia Department of Community Affairs

Vision and Goals

Savannah-Upper Ogeechee Council Fact Sheet

The Savannah-Upper Ogeechee Council will develop a regional water plan for Banks, Burke, Columbia, Elbert, Franklin, Glascock, Hart, Jefferson, Jenkins, Lincoln, Madison, McDuffie, Oglethorpe, Rabun, Richmond, Screven, Stephens, Taliaferro, and Wilkes counties. These counties rely on surface or groundwater resources within the Savannah-Upper Ogeechee region.

The Savannah-Upper Ogeechee Council is composed of residents of those 19 counties who were appointed by the Governor, Lt. Governor, and Speaker of the House to prepare a regional water plan. After the regional water plan is adopted, Georgia Environmental Protection Division permits and Georgia Environmental Facilities Authority grants and loans for water projects will be guided by the plan.

Coosa - North Georgia Middle Chattahoochee Metro North Georgia Savannah - Upper Ogeechee Upper Flint Middle Ocmulgee Upper Oconee Lower Flint - Ochlockonee Suwannee - Satilla Altamaha Coastal Georgia